Saima Desai cut her teeth as a writer and editor for the McGill Daily, while she earned a degree in philosophy. She’s an organizer with the Fight for $15 Saskatchewan. Talk to her about South Asian politics. Follow her on Twitter at @saima_desai.


John Cameron worked as production manager and editor-in-chief at the Carillon at the University of Regina; since then, he has had work published in the Prairie Dog and Vice. When he isn’t reading about racial justice, climate, and labour issues, he’s usually bothering his cat or braising something in a Dutch oven. You can find him on Twitter at @warmandpunchy.

Copy editor

Jenn Harris loves many things: collective resistance to systemic oppression; delivering perfectly punctuated, grammatically correct material to her clients; trail running; her bicycle; being involved in her community; dancing; and apples.


Emma Schultz is a born and bred Saskatchewanian. She holds a degree in environmental studies and has a passion for Saskatchewan ecosystems. You’ll often find her sprucing up her tree identification skills, while deleafing alternative facts.

Justin Fisher is a community organizer, researcher, and activist with a Master’s degree in history from King’s College London. Hailing from Treaty 6 territory in Saskatoon, he is passionate about climate justice and advocating for alternatives to austerity.

Briarpatch’s fact-checkers also include Tamara Sandor and MacKenzie Hamon.


Kim Kovacs is a Canadian-Oxford-Dictionary-toting, red-pen-wielding, grammar-policing bibliophile who moonlights as a nitpicker (i.e. proofreader) on the Volunteer Brigade at Briarpatch. She is based in Regina, Treaty 4 Territory.

Web Developer

For over 15 years Derek Hogue has been designing and developing websites for radical publishers; artists and musicians; and non-profit advocacy organizations across Canada and beyond. He does this from his politically beleagured yet economically affordable hometown of Winnipeg.

Board of Directors

Briarpatch is overseen by a dedicated and delightful volunteer Board of Directors. Each member is indispensable in guiding the magazine through patches of rough sea and ensuring that the ship is sailing in the right direction.

  • John Campbell
  • Aidan Conway
  • Marty Grande-Sherbert
  • Cat Haines
  • Darin Milo
  • Deanna Ogle
  • Annalisa Raho